The Hit Songwriting Formula

A cutting edge fast track to writing great songs

Spirit B-Unique acquires Polar Patrol

Original article from:

Spirit B-Unique, home to songs by James Bay and John Newman, has entered into a publishing deal with Polar Patrol Publishing.

Polar Patrol was founded by Snow Patrol’s Johnny Quinn, Nathan Connolly and Gary Lightbody and its catalogue spans the band’s repertoire, some Belle and Sebastian songs and works by Ed Sheeran’s co-writer Johnny McDaid.

McDaid co-wrote five songs on Ed Sheeran’s album X, including the hit singles Photograph and Bloodstream.

Details of the deal have not been disclosed but Spirit Music Group chairman and chief executive David Renzer told Music Week that it was ‘a big acquisition’.

Polar Patrol director Steve Farris will continue to oversee the existing roster, working out of the new Spirit B-Unique office in London. He will also search for new signings for the company.

Last September, UK indie publisher and record label B-Unique and US publishing group Spirit Music came together to form Spirit B-Unique.

The alliance bolstered Spirit’s presence in Europe and brought a raft of British artists under its umbrella, including James Bay, John Newman and Kodaline, plus hit songs from Rudimental, Calvin Harris, Olly Murs and Last Shadow Puppets.

The post Spirit B-Unique acquires Polar Patrol appeared first on M magazine: PRS for Music online magazine.

You must be logged into post a comment.